National Research Management Committee

The contents on this page provides outdated information and is only for reference purposes. Access current information about GISERA governance on our Governance page.

The National Research Management Committee (NRMC) oversees the finance and completion of milestones of all research projects approved by the Regional Research Advisory Committees (RRACs).

It also provides strategic direction to the Regional Research Advisory Committees as requested. Currently it comprises five industry, two CSIRO and one government representative.

  • Marita Niemelä: Director, Energy (CSIRO)
  • Dr Paul Bertsch: Deputy Director-Science, Land and Water (CSIRO)
  • Robert Hirst: Health, Safety and Environment, Manager (APLNG)
  • Stephanie Stonier: Corporate Affairs Managers (Northern Australia) (Origin)
  • Patrick McKelvey: Hydrogeology & Geology Operations Manager (QGC)
  • Matthew Sherwell:  Manager Policy & Regulatory Affairs (Santos)
  • Tim Radburn: Executive Director (Pangaea Resources)
  • David Lawrence: General Manager, Onshore Minerals and Energy Branch (Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources) – Government representative

Dr Damian Barrett, GISERA Director (CSIRO), is the NRMC Chair and has no voting rights.

To ensure independence, the number of votes held by Industry Parties must always equal the number of votes held by CSIRO representatives, with the independent representative having a casting vote. This is achieved by each Industry Party representative applying a National Research Management Committee Multiplication Factor to their vote. This is explained on page 46 (schedule 2) of the Alliance agreement.

Click the links below to download the meeting communiqués: